Laptop day

29Aug06

I got my new laptop today. It’s a ThinkPad with a 40 gig hard drive and a gig of ram. Quite nice. It came with SAS, S-Plus, Office, Endnote, Acrobat Pro, Symantec Antivirus, MikTeX, Firefox and Thunderbird (CMU knows its computing) pre-installed. I downloaded Matlab, Maple and Mathematica from the school (we have site licenses).

To complete the setup, I installed:

  • OpenOffice
  • Crimson editor
  • R
  • TeXNic Center
  • Winamp
  • 7-zip
  • The Energy Blue theme

And for good measure, I downloaded MikTeX, Firefox, Thunderbird, PDFCreator, Foxit Reader, IrfanView, SpyBot, ZoneAlarm and AntiVir, so I could burn a CD of free Windows essentials.

Even if I never use half of the freeware, I like to have it around just in case. My school has me pretty much taken care of, though.

Update: Turns out I got a copy of Photoshop Elements, too. Nice.

