“Just enough” time

10Sep06

I’m busier right now than I’ve ever been, and it’s only going to get worse. I have tons of reading to do (I’m not even getting it all done), as well as around-the-house stuff (banking, loans, etc.) to take care of. So lately I’ve been finding myself allocating “just enough” time to certain trivial tasks.

For example, I’m looking to get some furniture for the common area of my house. I found a cheap chair and couch, but don’t have any way to transport it. So I spent the absolute minimal amount of time trying to track down someone that could help me move it. We’re talking 30 second conversations. No go at the first try => I’m done. I have more pressing things to do (like write this blog entry, clearly).

Not a revolutionary concept. In fact, it’s something that most people already know how to do. But I’ve always enjoyed being extremely thorough, at least with things that matter to me. So it has been an adjustment. And besides, even if it’s common sense, that doesn’t mean that it can’t be the primary subject of a best-selling book aimed at businessmen. You know, “The ‘Just Enough’ Revolution — Time Managament for the Modern Age” or some such tripe.

Oh, I’m out of time. I have laundry, school and feeding myself to attend to.

