Fame, but not fortune

08Oct06

I operate a website that has tips on software and techniques for data analysis[*]. Most of the material is practical, not theoretical, since my theoretical data analytic training is only beginning. Nevertheless, there is a good store of material that I wrote to help people getting started with different software packages hit the ground running and expand their skills a bit.  Today I learned that it is hyperlinked from a graduate level stats course at the University of Pennsylvania. Nice to know that some of my stuff is of use to other academic types

[*] Yes, I realize that this is inexorably dorky. But keep in mind that the way that I made it through my last job was to dull the boredom by teaching myself these things. And since they’re all documented in a patchwork fashion, at least I was able to turn my malaise into some sort of contribution to the world, albeit an extremely narrow one.

