Political evolution

28Nov06

A quick thought…

I think there’s a “common” understanding floating out there in the world of ethereal knowledge about the world that people tend to become more conservative as they grow older. I suspect that this idea has to do with the fact that having kids and mortgages and such makes people more conservative, family-oriented, or at the very least, more pissed of at the world and therefore grumpier. I’m not there yet (of course, I hope never to be), but I have to say that I believe that I am becoming more liberal as I grow older — more staid in my beliefs even in the face of the fact that political philosophy (any political philosophy) is wrought with contradiction.

But that isn’t to say that I haven’t had my share of cause to be pissed off at the world. I’m thinking there are two ways to direct that anger. You can either decide that the world sucks and everyone’s on their own or you can decide that the world sucks and that people working together, no matter how imperfect, can make us all a little less on our own. The latter is my view. If anybody’s interested, I can make it theirs.

