Questions I missed on the faux citizenship test

03Jul07

MSNBC created a quiz from a list of sample questions that potential citizens study from.

3. In what year was the Constitution written?

1787

9. What are the 13 original states?

Connecticut, New Hampshire, New York, New Jersey, Massachusetts, Pennsylvania, Delaware, Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia, Rhode Island, Maryland

The first one I feel somewhat bad about, because I honestly didn’t know. The second one not so much. First because it’s just a list of states, which I’m not likely to remember exactly anyway. Second because the one I chose only differed by replacing New Hampshire with Kentucky, and my hunch, which I confirmed, is that Kentucky was one of the earliest states.

I was kind of proud because it’s not uncommon to hear the stylized fact that most Americans wouldn’t pass the test. Personally, I do not understand why the list of the 13 original states or the exact date that the constitution was drafted. Real citizenship requires knowledge of why these things are important (which I suppose would be difficult to test).

