Lotus symphony

18Sep07

So I installed Symphony, IBM’s new version of OpenOffice. It has a pretty user interface (looks more like Office 2007 than OpenOffice or StarOffice) and it seems to work just like OpenOffice, but all of the toolbars are different so things might be a bit hard to find at first. One thing I didn’t like was that the equation editor is not included in the application. Maybe that will be addressed in a later release, but it rules using the application out for me. I also discovered some bug (I don’t know how) whereby the application tried to launch infinite instances of Internet Explorer, which was strange, since Firefox is my default browser.

Nevertheless, it looks nice and seems to support most of what a business/organization might need, so hopefully the IBM name will encourage more adopters.

