There is some real irony

16Nov07

Over at Daring Fireball, John Gruber takes issue with Robert Scoble’s definition of irony. And he’s right, Scoble is just being bitter. But Scoble does make a good point:

Oh, and if you think I have something against Apple, no I don’t. But my computer, a 17-inch MacBookPro, has already been in the shop twice. My son’s MacBookPro 15-inch has been in the shop twice and has a dead USB port now so both of our machines need to go back into the shop.

This has been my experience as well. My iBook, the iBook of a friend, and the PowerMac’s of two friends have had serious hardware failures. Other PCs that I have owned have had hardware problems too, but not nearly as bad, and not nearly as quick. So here’s the irony: by most accounts, Apple is a hardware company, and there hardware, while very cool, also kind of sucks. On the other hand, Microsoft, by most accounts, is a software company. And although their software is very widely used, it kinda sucks.

Kinda reminds me of my old friend Mr. McGregg, with a leg for an arm and an arm for a leg.

